Build a Basic CRUD App with Node and React

Michael Adewunmi

This is a nice post. Thanks a lot for this tutorial. I am a newbie javascript developer and I also just started learning about Okta - A wonderful authentication service. You guys are doing an EXTREMELY WONDERFUL JOB. I will sure be using it once I start getting clients.

Meanwhile I have a little question. I really don’t know how the “UpdatedAt” property in the post object had its value (and probably got into the database). When I studied the point in the code where the post was created, I realised we didn’t do any newDate() while creating the post.

Also From the backend, the database table was created with the columns “title” and “body”. So Its really interesting and (confusing) how moments was able to get post.updatedAt. Although I’m guessing Sequelize could be the one doing the magic of automatically creating an “updatedAt” column in our table and probably setting a value for it and adding it to the database as soon every post is created.

I am thinking this way because I also saw a “createdAt” property in the post’s object when I checked my code with react Developer tools. I’ll be glad to know if I’m right. Please forgive me if i’m wrong and if the answer to my question should be obvious. Thanks in Advance and Keep up the good work guys.

Dan Dascalescu

Nice but theya whole lotta code for a login button. Meteor reduces all that boilerplate to simply {{> loginButtons}}

Katherine Hambley

This is nice and all, but I’m wondering why most of these tutorials for Node, React, Angular, etc do not include deployment guides. I’d like to be able to deploy the app I created to a custom domain, either on my Windows Server or on github pages or some other cloud service. Where do I find information for doing that? It would be nice to show off my work.

Matt Raible