Call API from ASP.Net Core 2.0

Please forgive me for the novelty of this question or if it has been covered somewhere else; I’ve been looking all over for a working example but haven’t found anything. I’m a novice in both C#/ASP.NET Core 2.0 and the Okta platform.

I was able to set up a basic working solution where the user authenticates using the OpenID quickstart.

Now I’m trying to call the Okta API from the backend to get information about “me” as a logged in user. Eventually, I want to get groups and role information (i.e., is the visitor a super user or admin, etc.) but am trying to start simple.

Here is my controller

[Authorize]
public IActionResult ShowUser()
{
  using (HttpClient client = new HttpClient())
  {
    client.BaseAddress = new Uri("https://{{My Company}}.oktapreview.com");

byte[] cred = UTF8Encoding.UTF8.GetBytes("{{My API Token}}");

client.DefaultRequestHeaders.Accept.Add(
        new MediaTypeWithQualityHeaderValue("application/json"));
    client.DefaultRequestHeaders.Authorization = new AuthenticationHeaderValue(
        "Bearer", Convert.ToBase64String(cred));

HttpResponseMessage response = client.GetAsync("/api/v1/users/me").Result;
    string stringData = response.Content.ReadAsStringAsync().Result;

// Just for demo purposes
    ViewData["Results"] = stringData;

return View();
  }
}

The error I’m receiving is:

{
"errorCode":"E0000005",
"errorSummary":"Invalid session",
"errorLink":"E0000005",
"errorId":"oaeOrQDpIWDTRyihIThHokg4g",
"errorCauses":[]
}

Can anyone point me in the direction of what I’m doing wrong here?

If you look at the “get current session” API - Sessions | Okta Developer, you will notice the following -

This operation requires a session cookie for the user. API token is not allowed for this operation.

Make sure that your session cookie is set (user is logged in) and don’t pass the API Token in your code.

Here’s an older thread which might be helpful - OKTA Session Id Retrieval - Stack Overflow