Cannot get widget example to work, fails silently

Hi. I am an okta n00b ( but I have been a full-stack dev for 10 years ) trying to get the sign-in widget example working, from here:

https://developer.okta.com/code/javascript/okta_sign-in_widget/#sign-in-and-display-user-s-email

I have and Okta dev / trial account and last week I did a lot of messing around with the API, creating users, groups, assigning aps, etc. etc. That all went pretty well and made sense.

The widget though, just doesn’t seem to work at all post-login. If I copy / paste the code in the example and run it locally, the widget renders ( latest Chrome on Windows 10 ) and it definitely seems to authenticate. If I put in the wrong password, it tells me. If put in correct details and look at the network tab in developer tools I can see the profile for the user coming back in the JSON. But in the browser, all that happens is that the login box greys out, and the spinner just spins forever. I’ve stuck console.logs() in all the function calls, not one of them ever seems to get invoked. Also, if I change the client id in the oktaSignIn() parameters to garbage, the auth still works fine! It makes zero difference… which seems really odd. I have made sure the App is assigned to the group the user is assigned to, the group is active, the user is active, and the client ID in the oktaSignIn() parameters matches the App’s settings under Client Credentials.

What am I missing?

Try cloning and running one of the sample apps from GitHub. That should be more clear. There are quite a few, here’s the React one for example - GitHub - okta/samples-js-react: React Auth SDK sample

Thanks for the reply. Building an App in React or Angular adds several layers of dependency, and is not relevant to adding authentication to an existing page. Are there any other examples where that works?