How is session cookie used to enable SSO?

I’m new to Okta and I’m trying to understand how SSO works after a session cookie is created.

The scenario is this:

1- From the user’s browser, user provides credentials to logs onto my client app A which does Okta authentication using Okta /authn
2- Client app A then creates a session cookie either by calling /sessions to create a session or using the /authorize endpoint
3- If I then attempt to access another SSO-enabled Okta app B from my browser, will I be automatically routed to the app B’s landing page as if I’m already authenticated?

Conversely, if a user already logged onto a SSO-enabled Okta app B attempts to log on to my client app A for the first time, how do I use the session cookie to bypass authentication?

Since you mentioned creating cookies, I assume app A & B both use the same server-side logic (perhaps middlewares since it’s a common practice) to make sure users are authenticated before they can access protected resources of your apps.

When your app uses middleware, there would be a cookie middleware on top of an authentication middleware. The cookie middleware processes the request first. When it sees a valid session cookie issued by your app before, authentication criterion is met, and the authentication middleware will be skipped. The protected resource will be served by your app.