Passport authenticate in Nodejs hangs

This is my first project with both passport and Okta in a Nodejs app. I can get the Okta login page, successfully login to Okta, and get redirected to the callback url with a code. This works perfectly.

However, I am having a problem getting the user profile. The call to passport.authenticate in the callback hangs. There are no errors reported or in the log.

I have looked at multiple examples and tried many variations, but I do not see what I am doing wrong. Any idea?

Code segment:

passport.use('oidc', new Strategy({
        issuer: process.env.ISSUER_URL,
        authorizationURL: process.env.AUTH_URL,
        tokenURL: process.env.TOKEN_URL,
        userInfoURL: process.env.USER_URL,
        clientID: process.env.CLIENT_ID,
        clientSecret: process.env.CLIENT_SECRET,
        callbackURL: process.env.CALLBACK_URL,
        scope: 'openid profile'
    }, (issuer, profile, done) => {
        return done(null, profile);
    }));

passport.serializeUser((user, done)  => {
        done(null, user);
    });
    passport.deserializeUser((obj, done) => {
        done(null, obj);
    });

app.post('/oktalogin', passport.authenticate('oidc'));

app.use('/authorization-code/callback', function(req,res) {
        passport.authenticate('oidc', { failureRedirect: '/autherror' }),
            (req, res) => { res.redirect('/profile') };
    });

app.use('/profile', (req, res) => {
        res.render('profile', { USER: req.user });
    });

app.use('/autherror', (req,res) => {
        res.render('error',{ MSG: "AUTH ERROR" });
    });

Hello,
Are you able to verify if the /token call is happening?
If successful you should see a log entry in the Okta System.log. If there is an error in the call it may or may not show up the in the log, depending.