Using postman to get Access Token

Hi I’m new to okta and I’m trying to integrate it with AWS API Gateway.

I have the custom authorizer created and I’m trying to generate an access token so I can test it out. The use case is for authentication for a REST api so am looking at the okta api calls directly, currently with Postman.

I’ve downloaded the OAuth2.0 postman requests and trying to use the Get Access Token with Client Credentials request however after filling in all the details (removing the redirect_uri and scpe as they seem to be optional judging by OpenID Connect & OAuth 2.0 API | Okta Developer

But when I make the request I get the response

{
    "error": "invalid_client",
    "error_description": "Invalid value for 'client_id' parameter."
}

I’ve tried adding client_id as a section in the body or the headers but I just get

{
    "error": "invalid_request",
    "error_description": "Cannot supply multiple client credentials. Use one of the following: credentials in the Authorization header, credentials in the post body, or a client_assertion in the post body."
}

Can anyone help me with what I’ve got wrong with the request please?

1 Like

Yea, the postman collection doesn’t make this clear. You can post client_id and client_secret in the body, or in the authorization header (Authorization: Basic xxxx) Right now, the Authorization header is set by default in the postman example. If you want to use the body, you need to make Authorization type No Auth. If you want to use the Authorization header, you need to update your client id and secret in the Authorization section in postman.

The scope is optional if you have a default scope set, you will need to go into API -> Authorization Servers -> default -> Scopes to configure a default scope.

I feel like my response is sort of confusing, let me know if you need anymore help.

1 Like

Hi @tom,