Using the Angular SDK in an Ionic App

I’m trying to put Okta authentication into our existing Ionic 6 / Capacitor app and having tried the ionic-appauth library I want to try the Angular SDK as an alternative.

I’m a bit new to all of this so I apologise if any of these questions are stupid but here goes:

Firstly, does the OKTA app defined at the OKTA end need to be an SPA app or a native app - I assume it needs to be native as the app is a mobile app using Capacitor?

Secondly how should I specify the redirect URI (in the OKTA app and the mobile app’s app.module file), the instructions for a basic Angular app specify:

redirectUri: window.location.origin + '/login/callback'

but I’m guessing I might need something like:

redirectUri: 'capacitor://localhost/callback'

I did try the SDK with the above settings and when I signed in on the Okta screen rather than re-direct correctly back to my app, I got the message “Open in the XXX App” i.e it was trying to open my app again in a new window rather than return. Any help would be appreciated!

You need to create a native app and use conditional logic in your app to detect when it’s running in Capacitor vs in a browser. When browser, use the http URI. When it’s in Capacitor, use the com.okta.whatever URI. OktaDev Schematics has instructions for creating the app, but URIs might be different if using our Angular SDK.

Thanks for that. In my Okta app I have

com.oktapreview.myorg:/callback

specified as one of the Sign-in redirect URIs

In my app in app.module.ts I have specified

redirectUri: 'com.oktapreview.myorg:/callback'

when I then try to login - before the login page is presented - I get the following error 400 Bad Request message:

Your request resulted in an error. The 're-direct_uri' parameter must be a redirect URI in the in the client app settings

It looks to me like I’ve matched them up but the error suggests otherwise?