Error: Your client ID is missing

Hi all, I am currently working my way through this blog post/tutorial for my studies:

and i am trapped around Build a Simple REST API with Node and OAuth 2.0 | Okta Developer

I have added all the needed vars in my .env file. However, i still get this error trying to run at the end of that section:

throw new ConfigurationValidationError('Your client ID is missing. ' + copyCredentialsMessage);
^
 Error: Your client ID is missing. You can copy it from the Okta Developer Console in the details for the 
Application you created. Follow these instructions to find it: https://bit.ly/finding-okta-app-credentials

I know my .env file loads. If i delete ISSUER or SCOPE, i get errors that they no longer exist. I am a student and new to this process and was hoping maybe it was a simple solution I am overlooking.

Someone also commented with the same issue on the blog post, so it seems it may not be an uncommon issue.

Thanks so much!

Edited to add full stacktrace:

PATH_TO_PROJECT/node_modules/@okta/configuration-validation/dist/lib.js:66
throw new ConfigurationValidationError('Your client ID is missing. ' + copyCredentialsMessage);
^

Error: Your client ID is missing. You can copy it from the Okta Developer Console in the details for the Application you created. Follow these instructions to find it: https://bit.ly/finding-okta-app-credentials
at new ConfigurationValidationError (PATH_TO_PROJECT/node_modules/@okta/configuration-validation/dist/lib.js:27:141)
at configUtil.assertClientId (PATH_TO_PROJECT/node_modules/@okta/configuration-validation/dist/lib.js:66:11)
at new OktaJwtVerifier (PATH_TO_PROJECT/node_modules/@okta/jwt-verifier/lib.js:25:5)
at Object.<anonymous> (PATH_TO_PROJECT/auth.js:4:25)
at Module._compile (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:688:30)
at Object.Module._extensions..js (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:699:10)
at Module.load (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:598:32)
at tryModuleLoad (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:537:12)