getUser() fails immediately after the login redirection

Hi Guys,
I’m pretty new to the Okta SDK…
I’m trying to simply show the username once the user is logged in but i’m facing a strange behavior.
If I call getUser() immediately after the user login it fails saying:

AuthSdkError: getUserInfo requires an access token object

If i refresh the page, the getUser calls succeed and I get the username.
Here my code:

console.log('Started');

if (this.oktaAuth.isAuthenticated) {

console.log('Autenicated');
  const userClaims = await this.oktaAuth.getUser();
  console.log('User');

this.username = userClaims.name;
}
console.log('Finish');

As you can see once the login redirects to the app i get this error:

Once i refresh the page i get everything:

Any suggestion?

Thanks much!

Are you getting an Access Token for this user and storing it in the tokenManager when they sign in?

getUser() requires there to either be a token available in the tokenManager OR that you have passed the token object in as an argument, so if the accessToken is not available in the tokenManager, you will need to provide it when calling getUser

You can check if its available in the tokenManager by using tokenManager.get().

Thanks for the prompt reply!
I’m not able to retrieve the token because the tokenManager.get is a property which returns a promise but the object seems contain a token:

Code:

console.log(‘Started’);

if (this.oktaAuth.isAuthenticated) {

console.log('Autenticated');
  const token = await this.oktaAuth.tokenManager.get;
  console.log(token.length);
  const userClaims = await this.oktaAuth.getUser();
  console.log('User');

this.username = userClaims.name;
}
console.log('Finish');

Anyway, the if condition indicate that the user is authenticated, why is there no token?

Can you make sure that the token stored is an access token? It seems like the length is one, so its possible only an ID token is stored right now.