How to retrieve the Okta Session ID via SAML (for MVC 5 OWIN App)?

Hi Fellows,

I’m pretty new to the Okta topics, so I’d like to you to bear with me if I’m asking question which might seem elementary… But for those questions I’ve already searched the internet space and have found not enough information… So please bear with me…

Now to my actual question:
I’m trying to retrieve the Okta Session ID from the backend of a MVC 5 OWIN application (ASP.NET 5). Login operation through the Saml2/Acs endpoint went Okay. The SAMLResponse contains information about the so-called Session Index, but this is not the Session ID which I need.
So why do I need the Session ID? I need it in order to make the two calls “Extend Session” and “Clear Session”, as the application workflow does not allow the standard “Single Logout” path.

I’ve found this SO question, where the only possible way to get the Session ID is through Okta Sessions API (from the frontend).
Is that currently also true? No other way exists to retrieve that Session ID (and especially from the backend)?

If you have questions or need more information regarding the topic, please write here.
Many thanks and kind regards,
Rama.

I think you may do a trick and make your frontend to ask for a session through API and then share it with your backend, for you to extend/terminate - https://developer.okta.com/docs/reference/api/sessions/#get-current-session

Hi phi1ipp,

thank you for your suggestion, however I was already aware of the suggested way - look at the linked SO post.
My question is if there is another way, especially from the application’s server side, to retrieve the ID of the current authenticated session…

Well, the only one thing I can help you with is a way to terminate Okta’s session w/o knowing its ID. You can redirect a user to https://your_tenant.okta.com/login/signout?fromURI=your_redirect_here and their Okta’s session will be terminated.