How to see a user's groups

I’ve set up Okta authentication using a dev account for a simple nodejs / express app. I’m trying to determine which groups the user belongs to without success. I’m new to Okta and only have a little experience with using oauth2, so I’m sure I’m missing something obvious.

I have created the groups, required them for the app, and added them to my one and only user:

I have created a scope for my one and only Authorization Server (default):

I have created a claim and linked it to the above scope and groups:

I am requesting this scope from my custom application:

I am dumping the returned user context data from my express page after login. The second console.log is redundant but what the heck… I’m desperate!
Screen Shot 2021-09-01 at 8.32.44 AM

The output does not contain the expected groups data when I log in:
Screen Shot 2021-09-01 at 8.33.32 AM

I’ve looked at other threads about determining groups, but I must have missed something. Is there an example that outlines how to do this? A troubleshooting checklist? It seems like a common enough requirement. Thanks for your time!

Hey there! What happens if you try including groups in the id token and/or userinfo request instead? If you want to return all groups for a user, I’d also recommend using the “Matches regex” filter option, where the expression would be: .*

Thanks so much for the speedy and helpful response tyty… Changing the claim to an ID token type did the trick. Much appreciated!

I left the filter alone and it seems ok. I did a quick test, and if I add a group that isn’t linked to the application, but still matches the filter it still comes through. I’d like to filter out groups I’m not interested in as much as I reasonably can.

Thanks again!