Okta API Authentication

Hello,

I know there are a lot of posts about API Authentication but I cannot get it right :frowning:
I have the whole Okta Postman library
I have a SSWS token which I’m using to do “Primary Authentication” through {{url}}/api/v1/authn where I obtain a sessionToken which I’m using to “Create Session with Session Token” through {{url}}/api/v1/sessions?additionalFields=cookieToken where I obtain the cookieToken which is where I’m stuck now. I’ve also noticed mentions of a {{url}}/oauth2/v1/authorize call which would be used to manually create the necessary cookie, but is there a way to have it created automatically?

I’m pretty new to API but to my understanding I need to use some type of Authentication (in this case the SSWS token) in order to make API calls. I don’t understand why after authentication I get another token (sessionToken) to Authenticate again with and then receive a cookieToken to keep me authenticated but I still cannot make a simple “Get User” call

I’ve looked through the documentation, not entirely but everything I could find on authentication and through other API Authentication related posts but I couldn’t find something to help me understand

Thank you!

So the endpoint you are trying to get information back from is /api/v1/users? In that case, you should look to use an SSWS API token to authorize the request (the Postman collection helps you format this.

If you generate an API token (SSWS) in the admin console, and make a request to /api/v1/users/${userId} (replacing ${userId} with the target user’s ID) can you get that call to work?

Hello Andrea,

If I try what you suggested it returns 401 Unauthorized:

{
    "errorCode": "E0000011",
    "errorSummary": "Invalid token provided",
    "errorLink": "E0000011",
    "errorId": "oae05t3STsDTb6VIhDf_T9aOw",
    "errorCauses": []
}