Questions regarding Okta inline-hooks

Before getting into the details, I’ll mention that I know Okta only as an end-user, and I have no experience with Okta development.
The use-case I’m trying to solve is adding a boolean decision (yes/no) for a user, whether s/he can or cannot grant access to an Okta-authenticated application.
The info regarding the boolean decision should come from an external DB.
I reviewed all the relevant documentation about Okta inline-hooks, and I’m still left with some questions that I’ll appreciate getting answers:

1. What is the relevant inline hook that I should use for the use-case described earlier? I guess that its SAML-hook or Token-hook, but I’m not sure which one exactly.

2. When generating the JSON payload of the response, what is the relevant command that I should use that suites my use-case?

3. I’ve encountered the following github account, belong to one of Okta’s support engineers: https://github.com/dragosgaftoneanu-okta/okta-inline-hooks, and I have the following questions about it as well:
    (a) How/where should I use such code examples? Should they be used in my external service that responds to the hook POST requests?
    (b) In the requirements of any of the 4 inline hooks, there are some features that should be enabled in the Okta account (e.g. “CALLBACKS”). This isn’t mentioned in the inline-hooks documentation. What do these features mean? Do they enable the inline-hooks on the Okta account?

4. And finally, is there any step-by-step beginners guide that I missed?

Thanks

Hi @akaduri75

For now, we do not have unfortunately an inline hook which would support your use-case - restricting access to applications. Currently, the SAML assertion inline hook allows SAML attributes modification before the assertion is generated, while the token inline hook is the equivalent for JWT tokens issued by Okta.

Regarding the examples from GitHub, an inline hook will work as follows: